Paula Hill 4 School Board

October 11, 2014

MY EFFORTS TO DISAGREE AGREEABLY

Filed under: Uncategorized — paulahill4u @ 10:32 pm

Seek First to Understand…

Four years ago, my first campaign for school board, my joke was that I was able to annoy anybody—The Heritage Foundation didn’t trust me because I had been part of the education establishment (25 years as a teacher) and the Eagle Forum leader pretty well shredded me on her radio program. On the Establishment side, the Alpine Teacher’s Association refused to endorse me (I had not asked) with no explanation (maybe they knew I had never joined the union) and I heard of comments from a couple of local principals which were definitely not favorable. I joked, “Something for everyone to dislike!”

I was very open about wanting to be a bridge of sorts, to be able to work with all opinions on issues, while still defending the principles that defined me as a person and as an educator. I can’t find the You Tube video I made (do they expire?) but it is a clear statement that I intended to work together, seeking first to understand, and then to be understood (we don’t often get to the second part, but hope springs eternal…)

I was also clear on my rejection of the influence of progressive educators such as John Goodlad (heck, all the way back to John Dewey, the first president of The Humanist Society), which put me at odds with the Alpine School District and their partnership with Goodlad’s group. It is not such an issue these days, but I still have it in my cross-hairs and work to reform our philosophy statements where I can. It seldom is allowed to come to a vote, but I push here and there, and when I lose the vote, which I always do, I lose graciously.

I took my lumps as a new board member, pairing up with Wendy Hart for support, sometimes coming out of meetings feeling pretty beat-up. But time passed, and my efforts to disagree without being disagreeable have been the underpinnings of my relationships with my colleagues and we have developed a workable relationship.

So this election the AEA has chosen to endorse me. Again I didn’t ask, in fact I missed the routine interview, and I was quite surprised to be endorsed. It is well-known that I stand firmly against Common Core, as well as a few other positions the administration supports. But it is also well-known that I do so with courtesy and the spirit of working together for the benefit of the entire district, children, teachers, patrons and tax-payers.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.